Desired Facility and Major

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
Matthew

Desired Facility and Major

Post by Matthew »

I was just wondering what everyones desired facility is and their intended major.

Mine is Redstone Arsenal, AL and my major is Electrical Engineering, I also put in for a 3 year scholarship.

Re: Desired Facility and Major

Post by Guest »

My major is Biochemistry with a minor in materials science and engineering. My preferences were:
Edgewood Chemical and Biological Center
Dahlgren Naval Warfare Station
Dugway Chemical test facility

From what I could tell, all of these have relevant chemistry/biochemistry opportunities.

BROCKMAE

Post by BROCKMAE »

I'm an Aerospace Engineering major at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach. I graduate in 2012.

I put down
1) Pax River Naval Base (MD)
2) Arnold Air Base (TN)
3) Cherry Point Naval Base (NC)

Chris Moulder

Post by Chris Moulder »

BROCKMAE wrote:I'm an Aerospace Engineering major at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach. I graduate in 2012.

I put down
1) Pax River Naval Base (MD)
2) Arnold Air Base (TN)
3) Cherry Point Naval Base (NC)
No Edwards :(

BROCKMAE

Post by BROCKMAE »

Ha! Actually I did have Edwards down as one of my three, but at the last minute I changed it because I thought there'd be a large number of requests for Edwards. I'm hedging my bet and hoping a facility like Cherry Point or Arnold will have less volume and my application will stand out more. Plus I know people at those facilities so I'm doing my best to stick my foot in the door. Edwards would be a dream job for an AE major... but in this economy and with this much student debt reality weighs a lot more.

If you want to talk to the recruiters there and pull my application and look how awesome it is (Plus I'm from Riddle, c'mon!) I wouldn't complain at all! :D

Chris Moulder

Post by Chris Moulder »