changing SF during school

General Discussion for SMART Scholarship Recipients
guest2

changing SF during school

Post by guest2 »

Does anyone have experiences to share re: trying to switch sponsoring facilities while still in school? Do your experiences involve changing branches of the DoD? My current SF is Navy, but my Ph.D. work happens to involve a lot of collaboration with an Army facility. So if I could transfer my SF to the Army facility, I could probably apply my internship work directly to my dissertation, then later work on exactly what I studied in school. Think there's any chance I could swing this?

Inuyushi

Re: changing SF during school

Post by Inuyushi »

Best of luck, I tried doing this and got an email from my contact's manager informing me that if I didn't like where I had been placed that they could inform me of how much money I owe them and I would be free to go wherever I wanted to go.

I'm not saying it's not impossible, but that was what my experience was. This was even after my first internship when I realized that my degree had no relation to what they would have me be doing. All SMART and the govt cares about are people to keep seats warm.

guest2

Post by guest2 »

Huh, I'm sorry to hear that. It's strange, one of the employees I met at the Army facility actually was a SMART scholar several years ago and did what I'm talking about without much trouble (although I didn't ask him if he changed DoD branches or not, and I can understand how logistics could have gotten more complicated in the intervening years). Maybe (hopefully) it varies from facility to facility. Anyone else tried this?

Post by Guest »