Security Clearance Timing?

General Discussion for SMART Scholarship Recipients

Security Clearance Timing?

Postby malarious » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:40 pm

Hi All,

I am new to the program this year but have not received anything to apply for security clearance. I was wondering if anyone knows when the codes or paperwork for this is usually processed. I am going abroad for school this weekend, so it will make things a bit messier. Already contacted the SF, they said there was nothing they could do to rush it.
malarious

Re: Security Clearance Timing?

Postby CSMajor » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:45 pm

Clearance is supposed to be handled by your SF's security office. I've already received and filled out all my paperwork -.. now I just need to wait for an adjudication. The process is relatively painless, just fingerprints and a questionnaire.
CSMajor

Postby malarious » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:58 pm

Thanks! Hopefully they can take care of things without much issue while I am out.

Painless is good.
malarious

Postby CSMajor » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:54 am

malarious wrote:Thanks! Hopefully they can take care of things without much issue while I am out.

Painless is good.

My only suggestion is to make sure you get your finger prints done before leaving.
CSMajor

Postby Guest3 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:18 am

How do they get your fingerprints what is the process?
Guest3

Postby forensics » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:30 am

Guest3 wrote:How do they get your fingerprints what is the process?

I went to the local PD and had them do two fingerprint cards. Then I mailed them in per my SF's instructions. You can do the livescan as well, but I was having problems finding somewhere to do them.
forensics

Postby CSMajor » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:55 pm

forensics wrote:
Guest3 wrote:How do they get your fingerprints what is the process?