Working in a DoD research lab

General Discussion for SMART Scholarship Recipients
guest 314

Working in a DoD research lab

Post by guest 314 »

I'm an applied mathematics PhD student who has been offered the SMART scholarship to work in one of the AFRL sites. I have very slim chances of getting anything better than a 17k/year teaching stipend (and the teaching eats up a lot of time) so I am attracted to the stipend pay (I have a family) with no teaching requirements. Furthermore, as far as I can tell, the research at my SF looks interesting but is slightly divergent from my graduate research. Given all these positives that I see, I have had multiple people caution me about taking the position (my advisor included). My question to you all is:

Could those of you who have worked in one of the research labs tell me what it's like? Are you code monkeys just running code other people wrote? How much independent thinking are you being allowed to do? Are you publishing? Do you feel like you could jump from your SF to a better job or this turning out to be a resume killer? Should I focus more on the "research lab" part or the "DoD" part?

I feel like a lot of these questions will be answered when I finally visit my SF but I'd like to go into that with some things to watch out for. Thanks to everyone who responds.

LOL_DOD_Quizzes

Re: Working in a DoD research lab

Post by LOL_DOD_Quizzes »

I don't think any DOD job will ever be a resume killer. You may be very unhappy while you work there, but I do think that it opens up a number of opportunities later. You will learn a great deal about the insight into how the DOD picks research topics/projects and how what the DOD expects from their contractors. This is actually quite valuable to contractors if you already understand the process and the deliverables.