Should I bother?

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
spektryna

Should I bother?

Post by spektryna »

Hi all,

I am currently a 3rd year PhD student in Pharmacology, but actually do research on neuroscience of TBI (heavy electrophysiology and biochemistry). I was blessed with an NIH sponsored training fellowship and have a few other fellowships that I want to apply for and have a good chance of getting; however, I am really interested in the SMART program since I want to join the military after getting my PhD and I figured that a DoD fellowship would be excellent for this. I've been reading this forum for a while now and after so many horror stories I started questioning my decision. I would like to ask you then, given my future plans, is this fellowship even worth it? I understand that some people don't have a choice but since I have other fellowships available, should I just stick with those and work on something else that I can tailor towards military?

Thanks for all your responses.

jjm390

Re: Should I bother?

Post by jjm390 »

spektryna wrote:Hi all,