Typical new applicant concerns

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
NoxRiddle

Typical new applicant concerns

Post by NoxRiddle »

I've seen a few posts in a similar boat already, but I have some other concerns about competitiveness as well, so I will address them all here. Basically, "should I bother applying?"

1. My previous education history is so-so. I graduated with my AA with a 3.41 GPA, which isn't particularly spectacular. After obtaining my AA, I took a few more classes that I did not fair well in. I took a few years away from school to reevaluate my path, and returned this year. I have since made straight As, including in those classes I did poorly in prior to my hiatus. I anticipate a 3.46-3.47 GPA when I apply this term (I'm currently at a 3.43, and my fall term ends before the application deadline.)

2. I don't have volunteer, internship, or club activity. I have worked a full-time job the entire time I have attended college. (This remains the case currently.) I am a member of the AIChE, but not in any leadership capacity. In addition to full-time course loads at college, extracurricular activities like these have been out of the question. Is it worth it to make a point that I have been employed full-time the last eight years (with zero gaps in employment,) and that I am the operations manager in my current position? Will the fact that I lack volunteer/internship experience because of work severely hinder my chances?

And in the interest of the application itself:

I am majoring in chemical engineering, but there are subjects within that major that I am looking at specifically. There are some SF that seem a better fit to those subjects, but do not list chemical engineering as one of their disciplines. Should I still list those SF as facilities I am interested in, or is it better to stick strictly to those that list my proper major as one of their fields?