Internship

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
ebart

Internship

Post by ebart »

I am currently a junior and found out I am a semi finalist. If I understand correctly, you don't have your internship until the summer after if you are selected. That would mean that I would have an internship after I have graduated since I will be a senior next year. I was just wondering how this works since I wouldn't want to have an internship after I graduated, but would want to be working for my sponsoring facility.

Re: Internship

Post by guest »

You only do an internship if you are receiving a minimum of two years of the scholarship. If you are receiving only one year there is no internship. There is no internship this summer for new recipients and after next year when you graduate you will be working for DOD in a full-time career position.

Post by Guest »

Thanks for the information. Is it possible to arrange an internship for this coming summer with your sponsoring facility? I have been in contact with them about internships independent of the SMART scholarship in case I do not get selected. If I were selected, would it be fine to intern this summer if the sponsoring facility offers it or not?

Post by Guest »

No, you will not be able to intern at a facility this summer. The scholarship pays the money for the internship.

Post by Guest »

what if the facility is willing to fund the scholarship themselves?

Post by Guest »

i mean fund the internship**

wilsoneri

Post by wilsoneri »

Thanks for asking this! I just assumed if I got it that I would be interning over the summer. Is the summer orientation for everyone? I'd like to be able to keep this in mind when applying to other summer internships.

RPI CSE

Post by RPI CSE »