Course Load to Graduation

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
BROCKMAE

Course Load to Graduation

Post by BROCKMAE »

I am a second year college student pursuing a BS, but a Junior by credits. My expected graduation is Spring 2012. Say I win the award, but complete all my courses for accreditation by Fall 2011. Can I take courses Spring 2012 and expect SMART to pay for them? Even if they may not be related to my major?
Thanks,
brockmae

ccain

Re: Course Load to Graduation

Post by ccain »

brockmae,

I think the answer to your question is technically, yes. Normally when an award is granted, it is valid through your expected graduation date. What you are taking (not related to your degree requirements) would normally be paid for at any rate, such as 12 hours of engineering coursework, and 6 hours of art. That said, if it is possible for you to finish your degree by Dec 2011, then you should note this. The reason, which has been discussed on this forum previously, is that the less SMART has to spend on you, the more likely you are to get an award, as it stretches their budget further.

Regards,

ccain

Chris Moulder

Post by Chris Moulder »

I have to disagree with ccain.

Generally, the rules are A) you must take every course for credit that can be taken for credit B) you cannot take any courses other than those which are required for your major C) you must be a full time student, feds say 12 credits.

Without working something out ahead of time, if you can graduate, you will be graduating, whether you want to or not.

Just a note, you generally cannot be in the program while not getting paid at the same time, and you can expect that they're not going to pay you to take additional credits.

As you can see, graduating early or late can cause many problems. You have already submitted your application; the best thing to do is not worry about it until you receive an offer.