BS/MS Dual Degree - Advantage or Disadvantage?

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
phorn

BS/MS Dual Degree - Advantage or Disadvantage?

Post by phorn »

I'm a college freshman applying for SMART this year. When I'm a junior or senior in my engineering school, I will have the option of applying for a program that will result in a Master's Degree in five years. I'm not sure at this point if I will want to pursue that or not, but there's a good chance I will. Do you think I should indicate that my program of study is a joint BS/MS program now so that I could be pre-approved for the next four years now (if I'm lucky enough to get that far, of course)? The instructions allow you to choose that as your course of study as long as your school offers it; you don't have to be accepted into the joint BS/MS program already. Or do you think it would be better to apply for the 3-year BS program only at this point, taking my chances with a re-application later if it turns out that I do want to go for the joint BS/MS before starting my work with a DOD lab? Do you think selecting one or the other will affect how the application is viewed? Thanks in advance.

Re: BS/MS Dual Degree - Advantage or Disadvantage?

Post by Guest »