Pathways Internship to SMART

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
PathwaysIntern

Pathways Internship to SMART

Post by PathwaysIntern »

I'm currently a Pathways intern completing my last semester of my undergrad degree. I've been in the Pathways program since 2016, and the agency I've worked for since then intends to hire me on full-time upon completion of my undergrad degree. Last fall, I communicated my intent to pursue a masters to my supervisor and applied to the SMART program for funding for my graduate degree. I've been accepted to the school I intend to go to. I've been selected as a semifinalist in a recruitment position for the SMART program, as I'm not technically a full-time government employee as per the definitions of the SMART program (referencing the 2017 handbook on the SMART site). Does anyone have any advice on how to proceed so that my current agency can still keep me as a SMART scholar? Should they look into selecting me through a Recruitment student position? Can they wait until I graduate in May to take me on as a Retention student? Any advice or information would be greatly appreciated!

AnotherGuest

Re: Pathways Internship to SMART

Post by AnotherGuest »