Specific field?

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
Kathy

Specific field?

Post by Kathy »

Hello,

I had a question, I am going into a Captive Wildlife Care and Education degree. Is there any way that this degree could translate into something that the DoD would want? I am a freshman in a community college right now, but I won't be applying till I am a Sophomore, getting ready to transfer to a 4 year college. My main focus is to conserve big cat species, I know that wouldn't really be a major concern of the DoD so I am wondering what I could do for them that would still get me the same degree. I wouldn't mind working with aquatic animals such as dolphins. Would the DoD have any want or job for someone with an animal behavior and care degree? Basically zoo keeping.

Also, the college I am planning to attend for this degree is not on their list? Does the DoD ever work with colleges that aren't on their "college" list?

Thank you,

Kathy

Chris Moulder

Re: Specific field?

Post by Chris Moulder »

They generally take a degree from any ABET certified program. However, as you may have suspected, your degree course does not align well with the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields that the scholarship is for. Biological research is probably as close as you'll get. I wouldn't be surprised if the government puts out other scholarships for animal research, but SMART is not what you're looking for.

Katherine

Post by Katherine »