Research Explanatin

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.

Research Explanatin

Post by Guest »

On the instructions it says: "You may wish to discuss specific research questions that interest you and how you became interested in them. Please discuss these research interests in sufficient detail for an expert who is technically competent in your field to judge your understanding of the questions to be addressed, relevant hypotheses and approaches one might take to answering the questions, and other research principles required to investigate in the research area you identify."

I have a pretty good idea of the field I want to research (biomechanics) and have some research background (one summer, will be continuing on throughout the year), but I'm not sure how much depth to go into. I am a rising sophomore. Any advice on the research explanation?

Chris Moulder

Re: Research Explanatin

Post by Chris Moulder »

Pretty sure we didn't have this question, but the basic idea is to give anyone reading your application some insight on your future interests and possibly connect you with an associated program that they are working with. I would assume that you don't need too much detail. Probably enough to show that you have a decent understanding of what it is you are doing. It is as much of a test of your goals/interests as it is your ability to clearly and concisely convey your thoughts.
Last edited by Chris Moulder on Sun Aug 08, 2010 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post by Guest »

Thanks. I guess what I'm really asking is what level of detail are the asking for an undergrad with limited research versus a PHD student about to start their dissertation?

Chris Moulder

Post by Chris Moulder »