Is it worth it to apply?

Answers to various questions regarding the SMART Scholarship application process. Includes many tips and statistics.
udontnojakki

Is it worth it to apply?

Post by udontnojakki »

Hi All! My name is Jakki and I am a 3rd year PhD student at a top 10 biochemistry research institute. I would really like to work for the DoD and also need funding. So I think this is a perfect match. Can you let me know if its worth applying? I have been turned down by so many fellowships so I am very discouraged at the moment. But maybe this is the one! Here are some basic stats about me:

I meet all eligibility requirements.
High School GPA 3.98
Undergrad GPA 3.87
Grad School GPA 4.0
GRE Verbal (79%)
GRE Quantitative (75%)
Analytical Writing GRE (93%)
GRE BIOCHEM (93%)
I have 4 years undergrad research experience and one paper from undergrad (4th author).
I have 3 years graduate research experience and two papers (second author). One first author paper in submission.
I have good letters of rec one from head of department and two full professors.
I have some community service volunteering with high school students coaching them for science olympiad and giving public science tours every Saturday.
I am in two clubs in grad school Network for Women in Science and also the Peer to Peer Coaching club.

But that's about it. Do I even have a shot? Thanks,

Jakki

Re: Is it worth it to apply?

Post by Guest »

Jackie,

This is a very loaded question. If you're asking if you have a chance of getting in. The answer is yes. However, getting in is a function of doing well academically, and facilities needing your background.